Lost your password?

Don't have an account?

Become a member


YDA 2017 Winners

The awards were handed out on February 23

Photography by Killian Broderick

Many congratulations to all those who were shortlisted for a 2017 YDA award. The awards themselves were stunning and were created here in Ireland by Shane Holland Design Workshops, while the runner-up certificates, stage banner and programmes were printed by Masterphoto.

Last Thursday’s Awards night was great fun from the start with DJs Dara O’Neil and Luke Curran setting the upbeat tone. Ceremony proceedings were kicked off with speeches by Max Brady and Andy Bradford, both describing the reasons ICAD and CPI are proud to support and organise the YDAs.

Animation and sound on the night were by Conor O’Boyle and by Stephen and Mark @ Mutiny, respectively. Between these animations, our wonderful host Ali Coffey, our venue, audience and, of course, the fantastic work on screen, it really was an excellent ceremony.

It was, of course, the winning work that we were there to celebrate, so without further ado …

WINNER – Vincent Gallagher, Second to None

Spec commercial
Special Mention – Ciarán Dooley, The Loneliest Boy in The World
Runner-up – Fergal Costello, GAVISCON Heartburn’s a Killer!
WINNER – Benjamin Cleary, Lamp

Commercial Work
Special Mention – Matthieu Chardon, Unicef Nepal #EmergencyLessons
Runner-up – Ian Hunt Duffy, Dundalk FC ‘The Captain’s Armband’
WINNER – Zak Razvi, RSA Crashed Lives Series

Producers Award
John McKeown

Short Film
Special Mention – Emily Murray, Spotless
Runner-up – Kev Cahill, More than God
WINNER – Vincent Gallagher, Love is a Sting

Film School work
Special Mention – Ciaran Behan, Cousins
Film School work – Christopher Corcoran, Loss & Renewal of Ego
WINNER – Eamonn MacMahon, Hidden Potential

Music Video
Special Mention – Bob Gallagher, Girl Band ‘In Plastic’
Runner-up – James Fitzgerald, The funeral suits ‘The way back’
WINNER – Finn Keenan, Louis Berry ‘Restless’

Where films are not password protected or on the festival circuit you will find links above.

Congrats to all of the winners. The judges (Kate Dolan, Jess Felton, Ger Roe and Damien O’Donnell) watched over eight hours of entries, often several times, to reach their decisions and in many instances, you blew them away!

We were honoured to be able to introduce two special prizes this year.

Each is a package of time and services of similar value, generously donated by key suppliers, to enable them to work on their next non-commercial project.

Prize Package One: Awarded to Eamonn MacMahon
Camera and grip – Panavision
Lighting package – Teach Solais
Edit, grade, post and Sound Mix – Screen Scene
Casting – Ali Coffey

Prize Package Two: Awarded to Finn Keenan
Camera and grip – Vast Valley
Lighting package – Teach Solais
Edit, grade, post and Sound Mix – Windmill Lane
Casting – Louise Kiely

Thanks so much to the prize donors and all who helped to make YDA 2017 such a success. Most of all, thanks to our entrants and all of you who came out to support them on the night. We were really impressed with the number of Creative Directors, Producers and supporters who came along to cheers these directors on.

YDA 2017 was organised by Elaine McDevitt, ICAD | Rebecca Bourke, Assembly | Andy Bradford, Sweet Media | Fiona Kinsella, Jumper Productions