Young Directors Awards 2018 Ceremony





The Sugar Club, Dublin 2


€12-€18 plus booking fee

The winners of the Young Directors Awards 2018 will be presented with their awards at a ceremony in The Sugar Club on February 22, 2018. Join us to see the winning work and celebrate afterwards.

This is the third year that ICAD has collaborated with CPI to find, award and nurture Ireland’s best up and coming directors. On February 10, our judges (Lorcan Finnegan, Lorraine Geoghegan, Fiona McGarry, Mark Tuthill) came together in Screen Scene to discuss the work and select our winners.

We are delighted to announce the 2018 shortlist:

Departure (Aoife Doyle)
The Bird & the Whale (Carol Freeman)

Charity film
A day with Jillian McNulty – Spar (Matthieu Chardon)
Calling Home (Megan K. Fox)
I Can’t Sleep (Laura Way)
Irish Street League (Andreas Birkenheier)
Soar ‘It’s just a Phase’ (P.O.B.)

Iarnród Éireann ‘Dream Trips’ (Bob Gallagher)
No More Nice Car (Dermot Malone)
The Date (Ciarán Dooley)
Today FM – Oh It’s On (Finn Keenan)
UCC Quercus – Ford (Lorcan Hynes)
Volkswagen “70 Years” (Lorcan Hynes)

Music video
Better // aboveDat (Lochlainn McKenna)
Bitch Falcon – Of Heart (Kate Dolan)
Brave Giant – The Time I Met The Devil (Fergal Costello)
Brave Giant – Way to Love (Fergal Costello)
Right Spots (Luke Sweetman)
Super Silly – Not Ready to Leave (Sean Clancy)
The Blizzards – Show Me The Science (Jeff Doyle & Shaun Ryan)
The Riptide Movement – Changeling (Jeff Doyle & Shaun Ryan)

Short film
Blood of the Woods (Emily Murray)
Catcalls (Kate Dolan)
For You (Brendan Canty)
Gustav (Ken Williams)
Homecoming (Sinéad O’Loughlin)
Kubrick By Candlelight (David O’Reilly)
Leap of Faith (Mark Smyth)
Lost Memories (Eamonn Murphy)
Marky’s Bad Week (Daniel Holmwood)
The Swimmer (Thomas Beug)
You’re Not a Man At All (Padraig Conaty)

Spec commercial
Ariel – Let them play (Evin O’Neill)
Bond of Enemies (James Fitzgerald)
City Harvest London – The Wastemen (Andrew Barry)
Úna Burke (John Haugh)

Student film
FISHWITCH (Adrienne Dowling)
Growing Alice (Danilo Zambrano)
I hate you the least (Dave Fox)
Irish Street League (Andreas Birkenheier)
Jelly Baby (Naomi Fagan)
Pernicio (Dave Fox)
The Gurney (Glenn Whelan)
The Screaming Minority (Andrew McConnell and JJ McDunphy)
Waiting (Isabelle Blanche)

YDA Producers Award Nominees
Jamie O’Rourke
Keith Bradley
Laura Gaynor
Matt D’Arcy

Book NowBack to Events